Sunday linkage

neil gaiman 2

I always have these grand weekend schemes that I will get everything I need done that I need to get done and feel better for it. Well, I got all my errands done, but now I’m exhausted and could use another Sunday. Luckily, I treated myself to some iced coffee, a truffle, and Neil Gaiman. It’s the little things that help me feel centered. Here’s what’s come across my radar this past week:

NPR has been all about diverse books this week. The topics range from MFA programs to publishing and selling diverse books. My very first post on this blog was about the We Need Diverse Books initiative and it’s exciting to see this conversation spreading.

Inspired by this pinterest board, our library created a compilation on Instagram of a few of our workers’ library confessions. I haven’t done mine yet, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be, “I have never read a John Green book – and I probably never will.”

Design*Sponge has a great advice section for small business owners: BizLadies. They post profiles of business owners and other short, engaging posts. It’s a great resource for people (especially ladies…) who own a small business or are thinking about opening a small business. There is some major food for thought here, guys. For more information, check out the 658.022 section in your local library. You just might find some serious motivation and empowerment on those shelves!

I love this round up of library programs. We already have our fall programs planned, but spring will be here before I know it! Amy Koester is such a librarian role model to me. She comes up with such creative, engaging programs and I love to hear what she is up to.

Doctor Who premiered Saturday night and oh it was glorious! I was a bit underwhelmed at first by the premiere, but by the end I was excited to see what season 8 has in store. I agree with the Guardian’s statement, that Capaldi “wasn’t instant.” But that was the point. Viewers could relate to Clara’s frustration that this wasn’t her Doctor. And now I’ll unload some reviews on you.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

