Instaread: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

colorless tsukuru

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

Oh me, oh my! I am about halfway through this book and it’s simple perfection. In Tsukuru’s sophmore year of college, he is banished from his close group of high school friends. He is devastated by this turn of events, but doesn’t ask why they reject him so suddenly. Years later, he finally pursues the reason at the request of a girl he is dating. I love how Murakami weaves different parts of Tsukuru’s life together. The past and present flow seamlessly throughout the story.  I find myself reading about Tsukuru and thinking, “Oh that’s exactly how I’ve felt before, but I couldn’t articulate it that well…”.

Murakami is one of my favorite authors. I remember taking a Reading class my senior year of high school. We just read during the class and wrote book reports…it was a pretty cool. We got to pick our own books, but every so often we were prompted to pick a book from an author from a different country. As I was looking for a new book, I stumbled upon Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore at a bookstore and it changed my life as a reader. It was completely different than anything I had read before and introduced me to magical realism.  That book inspired me to check out One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Chocolat by Joanne Harris, Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie, and some other fantastic stories. To this day, “Kafka on the Shore” has a special spot on my bookshelf. I like the sometimes mundane tempo that occurs within many of Murakami’s works. That’s often how life is. Anyways, if you’re a fan of Murakami or magical realism, check out Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. While I’m still in the midst of reading it, so far it’s pretty phenomenal.

If you’re still on the fence, check out these reviews

New York Times                                                              Washington Post

   Wall Street Journal                                                        Los Angeles Times

     Paste Magazine (includes a book trailer)             The Guardian

 Slate Magazine (read an excerpt)

Leave a Reply

